Josh Luckenbach


Josh Luckenbach

Josh Luckenbach is a poet whose recent work has appeared or is forthcoming in The Southern Review, Shenandoah, NimrodNashville Review, Birmingham Poetry Review, Grist, and elsewhere. He received his MFA from the University of Arkansas and his BA from the University of Virginia where he graduated from the Area Program in Poetry Writing. He serves as Managing Editor for Iron Horse Literary Review and is the Web Editor and Designer for the Coalition for Community Writing.



“Tantra” and “An Answer” — forthcoming in Birmingham Poetry Review

“The Skunk” and “Report, Arkansas” — forthcoming in The Dodge

“Spring Poem” and “All at Once” — forthcoming in Alabama Literary Review

“The Happening” and “Aubade”New Ohio Review, Spring 2023, issue 32.

“Trying to Let Things Be as They Are”Valparaiso Poetry Review, Fall/Winter 2022-2023, Volume XXIV, No. 1.

“The Worst of It”Shenandoah, Fall 2022, Volume 72, Number 1.

“A Dark Room” —  The Rupture, Fall 2022, issue 120.

“Landlord Ghazal” —  The Southern Review, Spring 2022 (print)

“We See What We Look At”Iron Horse Literary Review, January 2022

“You’re Invited if You Come Out” — Grist, Issue 14 (2021, print)

“After Reading the News”Cumberland River Review, October 2021, issue 10-4

“After the Quarantine Ends” — Nimrod International Journal, Fall 2021 (print)

“February in Deep Melancholy” and “Morning”On the Seawall, February 2021

“Eating the Tootsie Roll”Booth, July 2020

“Finally the Whispering Pines Motel Burned”Nashville Review, issue 27

Craft Essays, Etc.

“On Incantation, the Villanelle, and Kiki Petrosino’s Witch WifeShenandoah, Feb 2023

“7 Contemporary Poets on Revision” (as editor, with Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Natalie Shapero, Su Hwang, Chen Chen, Ama Codjoe, Emily Jungmin Yoon, and José Olivarez) — Iron Horse Literary Review, online, Dec 2022


Hold by Bob HicokThe Arkansas International, 2018

Holy Moly Carry Me by Erika MeitnerThe Arkansas International, 2018

Footnotes in the Order of Disappearance by Fady JoudahThe Arkansas International, 2018

Wade in the Water by Tracy K. SmithThe Arkansas International, 2018

The Cataracts by Raymond McDanielThe Arkansas International, 2017


Interview with Collin CallahanIron Horse Literary Review, Dec 2022

Interview with Fady JoudahThe Arkansas International, 2019


Contact Josh by filling out the form.